A busy time recently with FDPWs exhibition at the Scottish Art Club in Edinburgh and preparing for another exhibition in the Rothes Hall, Glenrothes at the start of April. I also did a Mangle Printing day for Kirkcaldy Art Club at the end of February. I do enjoy introducing people to the joys of Printmaking and we covered Collagraphs and Lino in the course of the day. Great enthusiasm and some lovely work produced.
 I've been doing more Collagraphs with the Lascaux products, including a large version of my "Hats". Just at the proofing stage at the moment, three tries so far, with the last providing a major problem as the surface came off in several places - something which has never happened before. So I'm at the restoring stage before I've even got a decent print! Not good. The illustration is of the first proof...
I have also been working  etching Lino with Caustic soda. Two semi-abstracted figures each printed from two blocks - one printed in yellow, the other in red. I still plan to add a third layer in blue. I particularly like the soft edges and marks the Caustic soda can provide.
Next on my agenda is doing another Beginners Printmaking course for FDPW. This year it takes place over two Saturdays, the 19th and 26th March., covering Monoprints and Relief printing. Looking forward to it!
8/6/2011 11:41:15 am

Hi, I'm also from Edinburgh originally but living in Canada since 1955. Family is from Leith! Have been doing reduction lino's on small press (see website) and recently purchased an antique mangle (1887) to try larger images in collograph. Interested in hearing how caustic soda used in linos you did. Could you let me know the process. Do you use oil-based inks? What are Lascaux products?
Was in Edinburgh 3 years ago on trip thru the highlands. Grand. Hope you can respond. Cheers....going to look at the rest of your site. Very nice by the way.

Reply
7/29/2012 03:33:31 am

Hi Stuart - I thought I replied before, but now not so sure. Here goes - the caustic soda is mixed with wallpaper paste to thicken it and make it stay where you want it. Another method is to form a barrier with wax to contain it. I make up the caustic then store it in a jam jar and find it seems to get stronger over time. Maybe leave it on for 20 minutes then run it under the tap to see how much has been bitten (eaten away). Once you have the results you want wash thoroughly or it will keep eating away your lino!
I use both water and oil based inks, but always oil for my reduction linos - they're just so much better, richer. Monoprinting and odd experiments I use Speedball waterbased inks which are OK and quicker to clean up. I often spray my paper with a light spray of water which seems to help the waterbased ink print better.
Hope this is of some use to you. Any other questions welcome!
Colin

Reply
9/3/2012 05:58:01 am

Thank you for info

Reply



Leave a Reply.